I’ve you’ve been lurking the Unfiction Forums like I have, you’ve come across a lot of crazy theories, rumors, guest posts and everything in between.
The latest gem is that there is a possibility of a movie poster being sold at a shop in Southern California, Frank and Son’s.
Guest goes on to write:
Anyway, I was at a large booth where they sell movie posters. One of the posters there had a snapshot of the statue of liberty overlooking the city of new york. The statue was missing it’s head and at the top in large white letters it said “Monstrous”. The lower right corner had in smaller white letters, 1-18-08.
He then included some pictures in another post which you can see below:



So now the question is, could this possibly be a theatrical poster for the upcoming 1-18-08 movie? What do you guys think?
Edit: As a commentator kindly reminded me about, there is a domain that has surfaced that relates to the Monstrous title in the possible movie poster.
Paramount Pictures has registered themonstrousmovie.com.
18 Comments
It’s possible that it is indeed the theatrical poster, but it’s also possible that a large distributor of movie posters has their own print shop and graphic designers. It’s unlikely that it’s official considering all the hype and secrecy, why would it turn up, casually, at a vendor booth?
I too think it’s unlikely that this is authentic.
I used to own a comic shop, and when Marvel or DC would offer “secret” cover variants, I’d scramble to find something of similar reference for the artist doing the cover, and then make a mock up of the “secret cover” to pre-sell on Ebay.
Death of Captain America and Civil War were two prime examples.
I guess we’ll find out at Comic Con this weekend, eh?
This could be official because if they were going to have these posters at comic-con they almost certainly would have these printed by now and it would have been failry east to swipe on from a printer or the studio with the right connections, but its hard to tell do to the quality of the shots was he drunk when he took these? In any event even if its real its not revealing anything new.
Darth Razor,
Now try English!
http://whois.domaintools.com/themonstrousmovie.com
Owned by Paramount. Created in early June.
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1060277/board/thread/80557325
We may just have an actual name for this movie, and this poster’s looking like it’s real.
@ “Hello!” - Unfortunately that IMDB link doesn’t work anymore; But thanks for the heads up on.
Ah, I didn’t know it wouldn’t work.
What it basically says is that Paramount bought the domain name not too long ago for themonstrousmovie.com.
Hmm, it’s okay it appears to be working now! But I actually saw that about the domain name in the Unfiction Forums a couple of hours ago; I’ll go ahead and edit the post to include the information about the domain name.
Thanks again =)
Arthur, Arthur, Arthur- Man, that’s some funny stuff there “Now try English!” and with an explanation point… Wheeeewww that is the kicker. Hold on, let me catch my breath, you are a funny funny guy Arthur. By the way the topic of converstion here is the film not grammatical precision - you’re in the wrong forum.
Now try staying on topic!
Now, now boys, don’t make me whip out my light saber and ultimate Storm Trooper moves.
Or Darth Pug. Dun, dun, dun.
there is also this one
http://img182.imageshack.us/my.php?image=posterhv6.jpg
which i’m pretty sure was confirmed fake.
why in the world would a vendor get the poster before say. . .the movies?
my good friends work there, and i live just outside NYC.
Nooneimportant - That is a fake poster. There was a user on IMDB that recreated it to see if it was possible to to fake a poster, which as you can tell from the fake, it is.
There are a lot of vendors that receive products long before the public can receive them. There’s a chance that it could be a legitimate poster, but just put on the shelves a little too early.
Who knows though, we’ll find out soon enough =)
@ nooneimportant - Because a vendor could have inside sources sneak him a copy from either the production office or the actual printing company. The movie theaters don’t get them until the production company wants them to get them.
I thought some might be interested in the fact that the same “Judson Lester” person who is listed under the whois information is also behind the sectorseven.org website created for the transformers ARG. I feel like people stumbled on this website simply too early and they weren’t ready, hence the lack of actual content.
Doesn’t it seem fishy that “this person” who saw the poster did not buy it but had mind enough to know it was 1-18-08 related. If anyone mildly interested in this movie saw that poster somewhere you better believe they would buy it, due to the hype alone. Then they would come home, take a hi-res photo, post it online and get recognition for the first look.
Plus, how hard is it to get a steady, clear image of a non-moving object with a camera phone…NOT HARD AT ALL!
I think this is a studio plant. Very cool clue though. I bet we will get the official poster release at comic con and this is hype up for it
Here’s the thing. A vendor COULD get the poster before anyone else. Product has been arriving at Comic Con for about a week now, and if someone working on the show floor got into the Paramount pallet(s) of promotional materials, then they could have gotten them to a vendor.
If this is legit, and it may very well be, we’ll see them online (Ebay) very, very soon.
Has anyone else noticed that there have been more “clear” versions of this same picture popping up everywhere?